Hello everyone,

So, I am very pleased to say that with the exception of some shoes and snaps, our workout puppets are completed. I am incredibly happy with how they have turned out, I am amazed to step back at this point of the process and realize that Andrea and I created every single part of these dolls. They were once just something completely imaginary, but now they are real puppets that look very much how we always thought they would. Here are some pictures of how they turned out:

Oh and I looked down while I was working to witness a secret puppet romance, some stolen puppet kisses:

Swear I didn’t put them like that.

Anyway, here are some pictures of an opera singer puppet that sculpture student Natalie Burrows has been working on. Natalie is one of the new eleven students working with us and I could not be more impressed by what she came up with. I absolutely love this puppet which is made from fimo modeling clay for the head, bust and hands, and a wire and cotton batting body. Note the beauty marks!

In addition to puppet construction coming to an end for this part of the project, we are just about done with the workout room set. I am really loving it, it’s very full-house-esque (more uncle joey than uncle jesse).. With our vision realized, I actually think I was subliminally inspired by Stephanie’s jazzercise phase. Who knew?

Another note, animator Justin Kohn is in town and I feel so lucky to be getting to know him. He has been working in this industry for 30 years and has worked on many of things we think about about when someone mentions the words “stop-motion”. Justin has animated for the likes of Nightmare Before Christmas, Coraline, The Life Aquatic, James and the Giant Peach, and many, many, many more projects. He will be running workshops throughout the week to teach us more about armature building, rigging and animation performance. Also, Wednesday night, he will be making a public presentation of some of his work as well as answering any questions you may have about this industry. So, if you are interested, Wednesday night at 8pm in Walter Hall! (same room that Coen Brothers storyboard artist, J. Todd Anderson, presented, for those of you who attended that.)

And finally, I am so pleased to say that we not only met our fundraising goal of $1000 in 7 days flat, but we have now surpassed that amount, totaling $1,140!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart to all who helped us out, I feel so blessed to be surrounded by so many supportive people. The money eases so many stresses surrounding the completion of this project and helps make this all possible. So, again, thank you.

Well that is all for now. Keep checking back because before long we will hopefully have some animation for you to check out!

love,

Sam

